Seizing The Day

1 May

I know I have a pretty mundane life. I’m a stay at home mom where the highlight of my day is if I get to take a nap or not. (Kidding. Kind of.)

I have a pretty set routine…wake up, have some coffee, get Reilly up and ready for school, yell at her to quit watching tv and get ready for school, tell Ophelia that no, she can’t have chocolate for breakfast and then I take Reilly to the bus stop, where I have to tell her at least 5 times not to sit or stand on the arm rest of the front seat.

The rest of my day can be up in the air…I may go grocery shopping…or I might clean up a room that’s a disaster…and sometimes, I sit on my ass all day and read a book. It varies day to day, but the same shit always happens…get up, shower, fill the rest of the day up with stuff, dinner, and bedtime.

When I was 22, a little over a year after I had Reilly, I decided my life was boring. I was stuck in a rut with my then-boyfriend, I was poor (even though I had a job)…I was just miserable. So while my ex went to Warped Tour with all his friends (using money I made at my job, funny enough) I took the day off work and went and got a tattoo. It’s on my foot and it says Carpe Diem. It’s one of my favorite tattoos. And I don’t always seize the day…life happens…kids happen…that’s just how it goes. But since I got that tattoo, I’ve taken life less for granted and more for what it is…that no day is guaranteed. That life is short and that nothing is waiting for me after I’m gone. I have this life and this life alone and I need to make the best of it.

Enter my husband of 5 and a half years. We met and got married after less than 2 months of knowing each other. We seized the day and have a pretty great relationship. 2 cars, 3 kids and a dog. With him being in the military, we move every few years. Never did I ever think I’d get to live in Hawaii. And in a month and a half or so, we’re heading to California. Somewhere I’ve always wanted to live.

Which brings me to last weekend. Skydiving has been something I’ve always wanted to do. Jumping out of a plane? Where you could possibly die? You want to feel alive…go skydiving. Of course, there are tons of other ways to feel alive…but watching the ground come at you at 120mph? Jumping out of a tiny plane above cloud level with nothing to save you but a thin veil of fabric? It’s definitely an experience of a life time.

I was so nervous on the drive to the facility. I was nervous as I strapped up and then got on the plane. I was pretty much nervous until I got to the door of the airplane with my tandem jumper strapped to my back and I was basically shoved out of a plane.

20130501-093330.jpg

The free fall was amazing…I can’t even describe it. After we jumped, I felt so exhilarated.

20130501-093440.jpg

We fell for about a minute before the chute was deployed, and then I got to spend the remainder of the time looking at all the beauty around me. The ocean, the beach, the mountains…all of it was gorgeous…

20130501-093638.jpg

And I didn’t die. And the only things that top jumping out of a plane (so far)? Getting married to my husband and my relationship with him, and my children.

20130501-094027.jpg

So I’m vowing to do more things that will make lasting memories…for myself…for my husband and I…and for the kids. Because when I’m on my deathbed, I don’t want to be thinking about all the things I didn’t get a chance to do in life. I want to remember all the things I got to do. I want to remember the feelings I felt while doing those things and how I felt afterwards. After we landed on the ground after skydiving, I was so happy. So stinking happy. Like, on a ridiculous high, better than anything I’ve ever smoked.

This weekend, I want to go see the sunrise. There have maybe been a handful of times I’ve actually been somewhere that I can see a gorgeous sunrise…so I want to experience one in Hawaii before we leave.

And I know…that we won’t always be able to do whatever we want. We have lives. We have responsibilities. We have jobs and a whole bunch of not-so-fun stuff that we have to do on a regular basis. But that doesn’t mean we can’t take the time to live a little and seize the day more often.

leave mama some love

