Letters To My Kids: Pt. 1

10 Aug

My Little Bubba,

It doesn’t seem like 6 months ago you were a newborn…I wanted to say “tiny little guy”…but tiny you were not. Plopping into this world into your daddy’s waiting hands…how time has flown by. I remember your birth like it was yesterday, but at the same time, it seems like ages ago. You’ve grown and changed so much in such a short period of time that it seems impossible that you ever fit inside my tummy.

You want to try new things all the time…and its all been in the last month. You want to try all kinds of food…but apple sauce makes you mad for some reason. I can’t wait for the day when you can actually grab food off my plate and chow down. You’ve been so good at sitting up, but today, you didn’t even want that…you kept straightening your legs out any time I tried to put you on your butt. You want to do all of this stuff right now…and I applaud your go-getters attitude. It’s so quick. You’ll be crawling and walking and running and jumping before I can even blink! Your hair is getting so, so long. It’s right above your eyes and its so gorgeous. Your blue eyes can just melt hearts.

Your personality matches your devastating good looks. You are one of the happiest babies I’ve ever had the pleasure of knowing. You are so playful and so funny at such a young age, its just amazing. Last night, you lay in bed with daddy and I and just played. You’d look at him and play with his face…then you’d come rushing back to mama for nursing and giggles. And you did it over and over again until you just fell asleep. Your sisters just adore playing with you…and you and Ophelia have this weird, special bond that I hope stays forever. You will be such a great little brother to both of them.

After having two little girls, having a little boy was terrifying. At least I thought it would be. But when I got pregnant with you, I just knew you were going to be a perfect little boy…even before the ultrasound…I called you bubba when you were still in my belly because I just knew. You have been such a blessing to our family. Your sisters love you so much…your daddy loves you so much…and you just absolutely complete my world. After I had Reilly, I never thought that I could possibly love any other baby as much as I loved her….but I had your sister….and then you….and with each baby, your heart just grows bigger, not smaller.
Your daddy and I will do our best to give you every opportunity in the world…and anything you could possibly need. I see great things in store for you, my little red headed bubba.

 

I love you.
Mama

6 months
21lbs 15oz
28.36″

leave mama some love

