Shit I Might Get Around To Doing

8 Jan

Now that we are significantly (8 days is significant right?) into the New Year, I’ll be talking about my resolutions.

No no…I won’t. I don’t “do” resolutions.

That stems from years and years of making a resolution to “stop biting my finger nails” and then never doing it. Even when I was like, 8 or 9, I would say ever New Years Day “I won’t bite my nails this year!!”

And then later that day…

but that’s a different story.

So for a couple of years I haven’t made a resolution at the New Year. But this year, there are things that I want to do…or take care of…or whatever. So I’m making a list of “Shit I might get around to doing this year”. Which I think is acceptable…I always have a running list of things I want to get done in my life and around my home but labeling it a resolution makes me feel bad if I don’t get it done. So here’s my list…..
Shit I Might Get Around to Doing This Year — 2012 Edition:
-purge my unused goodies from my house – This is something I strive to do all year round. We are constantly in a state of moving from one thing to another, and the things that we use get tossed by the way side. I have 4…yes….FOUR junk drawers in my kitchen. Who needs that? I do apparently. So something that I would like to work towards this year is purging all my crap. And my husbands crap. And the crap of three kids. And a dog, who, to her credit, doesn’t have a lot of crap. At least not that she doesn’t leave outside. Anyway. Get rid of crap.

-read more – You know how many books I read for pleasure last year? That I can actually recall? That wasn’t birth or baby related? Maybe…MAYBE half a dozen. And that was mostly in Ophelia’s first couple months of life…ya know, before she started becoming mobile and needing attention all the time that wasn’t in the form of sticking a boob in her mouth. Most of them were short, cheap books that I bought at the e-book store (by short I mean less than 300 pages). I used to read all the time. I look forward every year to one of the Sookie Stackhouse books coming out (around Mother’s Day…which is perfect!) because I actually get to read. But this year, I’d like to read a book a month. I’d like to.

-date nights with the husband – I know a baby is on the way and we have two other kids. I know his schedule is changing. I know I’m going to be tired/breastfeeding/blah blah blah. But we went on date night less than 5 times last year. We used to make it a point to try to do something fun together at least a couple times a month. But even now, we can barely get through a movie together at home. Our last date was for our 4-year anniversary where we went to dinner. So that’s something else I want to try to do this year is to spend more time with just my husband. I used to have a life…what happened? Oh, right….those children-type-dealies.

-be a better mom – I try really hard to be a good mom. I try to be there for all of my kids when they need me. But as Ophelia has gotten older, I’ve found myself being stretched thinner and thinner. Maybe it’s just because I’m exhausted from being pregnant with the mix of child in school and toddler…and I’m sure it’ll be better once Bachman is born and everyone has had a chance to adjust. But I just feel so thinned out. And I hate feeling like that. So one of the thigns I want to do is spend more individual time with each of the kids….though mostly Reilly. She’s the oldest and has to be the most tolerant. Ophelia and Bachman are still little and still pretty dependent on mommy, so they get that time..but Reilly doesn’t always. So part of being a better mom is going to be me making sure I take the time every day to spend quality time with my kids. Even just 10-15 minutes a day is better than nothing. Right?

-pay off some m-fin debt – we don’t have a ton, but I wanna pay it down, if not off. That’s a nice goal to work towards

-take more pictures – this one is pretty self explanatory.  I take a lot of cell phone pictures, but I wanna bust the camera out and take pictures of all the kids and the husband and I with the kids.

-embroider some shit – I love being artsy/craftsy. I don’t get a chance to do it very often. But I did some embroidery over the holiday and I fell in love. Its so comforting and relaxing.

-find time for myself – I don’t do it nearly enough. I think that’s part of why I feel stretched so thin…I don’t take the time to relax by myself…I don’t remember the last time I took a bath by myself. Or really did anything by myself without a child attached to me somewhere (yes, including inside my stomach). I need some mommy time. And damnit, I’m gonna find it.

-blog more – duh. I got lots to say. I just have a hard time finding the time to sit down and get it all out there — for instance, I have been writing this particular blog for…ohhhhhhh at least 12 hours. And no, I haven’t been writing the entire time (I would be well on my way to a book if I had been writing for 12 hours straight), but I keep needing to step away and then come back to it. I’d like to blog at least once a week. But lets remember, this is called ‘Shit I Might Do’ not ‘Let’s Do All The Shit!!!’

and lastly (for now)

-get organized – it’s honestly a huge pet peeve of mine that I’m NOT more organized. I really hate it. It makes me sad when I walk downstairs in the morning and there are baskets of crap on the stairway, then toys and shoes all over the front room, with books hanging off the bookshelf, then toys all over the floor and coffee table in the living room along with a floor and carpet that haven’t been vacuumed in a good while. Though to be honest, vacuuming has nothing to do with organization, but whatever. Then when we round into the kitchen, there are dirty dishes from the night before, crap from who knows where…I currently have the owner’s manual to my van sitting on my counter. It’s been there for over a month now. It needs to be in my VAN not on my COUNTER. It’s a work in progress (like always).

So that’s it. My “Shit I Might Do This Year; 2012 Edition” list.

Do you do resolutions? Or “resolutions”?? Do you keep them?

Also, how’s this WordPress thing working out? Or does anyone care? Are you out there?!!

One Response to “Shit I Might Get Around To Doing”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. January Photo Challenge « Mom plus Wife - 11 January, 2012

    […] Funny enough, I take pictures, with my phone, almost every single day. So its surprising when I can’t figure out how to take one damn picture a day. BUT! In the spirit of wanting to do shit this year I’ve decided to embark on this journey brought to you by Fat Mum Slim. So… […]

leave mama some love

