Family Fun Weekend

5 May

So in keeping with my “seizing the day” thing, we had a fantastic Saturday! Also, this post is long. So apologies for that.

I forced everyone to get up at 4am (on a Saturday!! Mean mama!) so we could take an hour long drive to out past Honolulu. I normally don’t like driving to that side of the island. The traffic sucks…like, really sucks…and there isn’t enough on that side of the island to warrant an hour long drive. The only thing that’s over there that is even remotely interesting and worth the drive is the shooting range. Though, the beaches are beautiful over there..and the Kona Brewing Co is over there with its tasty, tasty beer…but like I said: traffic blows.

Back on topic. I forced everyone to get up at 4am and we drove to the other side of the island from us so we could watch the sunrise. You can see in my poorly edited picture where we started and where we ended up. (Off topic, but still kind of relevant, I think its funny that you can drive from one side of the island to the other in about an hour. That’s like driving from Olympia to Seattle or close to it back home.)

karta-over-oahu-hawaii

Roo was actually really, really excited about this for some reason. I don’t know many 7 year olds who are like “HEY! Lets get up before its light outside and take a car trip to go look at the sky!” but she was a trooper about it. All the kids were in fact, which was great.

We were planing on going to the Makapu’u Lighthouse Trail, but by the time we were getting close, we wouldn’t have had time for the mile long walk. But, that’s okay. We can go another morning (not for the sunrise, but early enough that its cool and there isn’t much traffic out there, because I do really want to go). We stopped at a scenic point really close to Sandy Beach, which gave us a great view of the ocean. We could also see  Lānaʻi and Moloka’i, which I thought was pretty badass.

 

So we got there about 20 minutes before sunrise and we just got to listen to the ocean…there were minimal cars driving around (it was almost 6am) so it was pretty peaceful. Sunrise was at 5:58am and let me tell you, it didn’t disappoint. In my life, I’ve seen maybe a handful of actual sunrises…where you can see the sun come up over the horizon. I love them. I think they are incredible and amazingly peaceful. There is just something so beautiful about a new day and more often than not, people just don’t appreciate how awesome our planet is. I had a blast pointing out all the colors to Ophelia (she likes pink and purple!)

May 2013 079

This picture is right before sunrise. How cool is that shit? I mean, in Hawaii, we are in the middle of the ocean. Surrounded by water. And you can’t see this just anywhere. I loved it! The colors are just….wow. May 2013 065The husband got way better pictures than I did on the camera I was using. I’m horribly unsteady (I blame the constant flow of caffeine into my system) but he got some amazing pictures. I just snapped a couple shots with my phone. Because that’s how I roll.

 

Good'n

Finally getting to see the sunrise? Gorgeous. Absolutely stunning. I loved every second of it, AND I got to cross something off of my ‘Hawaii Bucket List’.

Then, keeping with our apparent theme of a “family fun day”, we took the kiddos bowling. Let me say this. I love my kids. I love that they love to explore and are interested in the world around them. But it makes things like bowling quite difficult when the little kids just want to run around. Ophelia kept trying to run to the front of the bowling alley to go sit on the ride-on toys (that didn’t work) and she kept trying to play on the gambling machines (you’re too young Ophelia!!!). Bachman just ran around trying to get into anything and everything he possibly could. Reilly was busy trying to chat up a boy. (Oi.) But Reilly also bowled the first strike…of the first game…in the first frame (she was the first person to bowl). So that was pretty awesome for her. Though, she then spent the majority of the first game pouting because she wasn’t bowling anymore strikes. *sigh* Kids, man.

May 2013 025May 2013 031

Ophelia thought it was a blast to carry her own (8lb) ball to the “help you bowl” thingy and push it down the ramp. Even Bachman got in on it for a couple frames during the second game. Mostly because Ophelia was getting exhausted and after the first turn, she was done.

 

May 2013 024May 2013 029

 

But we all had a blast! I do love doing stuff like this with my kiddos…even if it is tiring to chase them around the bowling alley for over an hour. We got bad-for-you food, enjoyed each others company, and let our kids have fun. Also, they loved wearing bowling shoes…which I think is funny because I used to love wearing bowling shoes when I was a kid too. Now? I think they’re kinda gross….but back then, it was fun.

 

 

 

THEN! After bowling (and a much needed nap for Ophelia) we went to the Toby Keith concert here on post that was put on by the USO. Which, come on…free concert? Hell yes. I used to listen to Toby Keith when I was a little older than Reilly, so it was really cool to go see. We weren’t sure if we were going to make it…shortly after we got home from bowling, it started dumping rain. And it did that for a couple hours. I didn’t really want to take the kids to a huge field, with lots of drunk people, in the rain, past their bedtime. But, the rain cleared up in time, we walked down there and got a decent spot (close enough that we could mostly see what was going on, but far enough away that we didn’t have to deal with a huge crowd). The kiddos got to dance and be crazy…Ophelia pretty much danced through the whole show, minus a few 5 minute breaks where I was sure she was going to pass out in the tent. Bachman ran around like crazy until the concert started, where he promptly nursed and fell asleep in the baby carrier, missing 95% of the concert — and he slept through the whole thing, minus one wake up. How that kid can sleep through all that noise is beyond me, but he did it, and it was really nice to not have to chase him through all the people. I also have to say that I think its great that my kids first concert was country music. My first concert…at 10 (or 9? or 11? I can’t remember…), was to see Alan Jackson. So that was pretty cool. They stayed up way past their bedtime and immediately went to bed when we got home (and slept in till 7am…and yea…that’s sleeping in at our house)…everyone was completely exhausted and happy. Which makes me happy. And, we were creating great memories for our kids.

941828_10151422422147543_352085214_n 393113_10151422422037543_2050832956_n 942707_10151422421932543_871040688_n 575554_10151422422057543_1732165408_n 485508_10151422421967543_923865770_n

All in all? A fantastic day. A completely exhausting and long day, but fantastic none the less. I wish every day could be filled with so much awesome. It can’t, of course, but we did get to see some things that we wouldn’t normally get to see, do some things besides go to school/work, clean the house and do boring stuff. And we got to do fun things with our kids. Over the next few weeks, life is going to be busy. We have various BBQs to go to (including our welcome home/going away BBQ), we’re getting ready to move back to the mainland and to visit family. So I’m really glad we got to take the time to have a great family day.

One Response to “Family Fun Weekend”

  1. sue houston 05 May, 2013 at 16:41 HST #

    I WILL LEAVE LOTS OF LOVE. I KNOW i AM NOT THE ONLY ONE ANXIOUS TO SEE YOU AND AND YOUR FAMILY. I FELL IN LOVE WITH OPHELIA AND FOLLOWED HER GROWTH THROUGH DEBBIE’S FB PAGE. THEN WHEN BACHMAN CAME ALONG, I FELL IN LOVE AGAIN. REILLY IS SUCH A BEAUTIFUL YOUNG LADY AND IT IS GREAT TO SEE B.J. HOME WITH HIS FAMILY. MY LOVE AND PRAYERS ARE WITH YOU AS YOU MOVE BACK TO THE MAINLAND. SUE HOUSTON

leave mama some love

